Fifty Shades of Gelato

A lot of adventures, a lot of mishaps, a lot of gelato

Una Vacanza Romana!

After a few hours of driving from Florence we arrived in Rome early afternoon. Oh how excited I was to be back in one of my favourite cities with all the history, the culture, the gelato, the Trevi fountain, the Colosseum. You can read about my previous trip to Rome here.

We started with a walking tour around the major sites of Rome, including the Pantheon, Roman Forum and the Trevi Fountain. With Katy as our guide I learnt some interesting things about throwing coins into the fountain. Apparently if you throw one coin in you will return to Rome one day, if you throw two coins in you will have a hot fling with an Italian, and if you throw three coins in your current love will last forever.

I would like to say that I threw in three coins to appease my significant other, but I am cheap and didn’t want to waste any coins, so the fountain only got one coin out of me.

563024_10201534479741921_1806630209_n

So in throwing the coin I seemed to almost lose my head

So in throwing the coin I seemed to almost lose my head

I also learnt about the legend of the Trevi fountain water. Apparently if you drink the water it will restore your virginity…

Our walk went for a couple of hours, it was nice to see all the sights again, it just wasn’t so nice walking around in the very humid heat. After all my complaining about the Australian summer I can safely say that it really has nothing on the Italian humidity. After our tour we went back to the hostel and chilled by the pool before having a celebratory ‘throwback’ breezer at midnight to celebrate Sarah’s 22nd birthday. As our room did not have a freezer we had to make do with keeping our drinks cold in the bathroom sink…constant travelling really does develop your creativity and innovation.

I don't know about you, but I am feeling 22...happy birthday lovely!

I don’t know about you, but I am feeling 22…happy birthday lovely!

Our next day began bright and early at 7am for a morning tour of the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel, which I was actually really excited for. On my last visit to Rome the Sistine chapel was closed due to the imminent election of the new Pope, so I didn’t get very far into the Vatican. The Sistine Chapel is incredibly beautiful, The Last Judgement painting is quite surreal to see, it’s hard to believe that only one person painted the whole thing. Our tour guide was absolutely hilarious, she talked non-stop and had this crazy laugh. We were given headphones for the tour and she spent the majority of the time talking to us through them, “Come to mumma, my babies, follow my voice, follow mumma’s voice.” I love Italians.

After our tour we explored the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. I got to see so much more than when I was there in March, it seems they had finally finished their excavating and let more fences down.

Hadouken!

Hadouken!

IMG_4037

IMG_4006

Once we got back from our exploring we relaxed by the pool, worked on our tans (or in my case, worked on my freckles) and then got ready to celebrate Sarah’s birthday at the Topdeck Gangsters and Slappers party. We celebrated with all our other Topdeckers by indulging in casual drinks outside our room that somehow turned into a very revealing game of Never Have I Ever that then turned into dancing until 3am. Needless to say it was a good night!

Gangsters and Hos

Gangsters and Hos

The next morning we very, very, very tiredly made our way to the bus for our next stop: Greece. Time for the relaxing part of our trip.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

